Project Spaces

In this article

Overview

Project Spaces provide a way to group related Projects and set permissions for them. Each Project Space has a shared folder and can contain multiple Projects. In Manager, the left navigation pane displays the Project Spaces tree. The shared folder under Project Spaces contains Assets that are accessible from all Project Spaces and Projects in the Org. The shared folder in a Project Space contains Assets that are accessible from all Projects in that Space.

Project Spaces

Org admins create and manage Project Spaces. They set permissions for users and groups at the Project Space, shared folder, and Project level. Users added to the Projects Spacesshared folder automatically have read and execute permissions for folder Assets. To assign read, write, and execute permissions to a Project Space shared folder, the Org admin must explicitly assign full access to the user for that Project Space.

Your permissions determine the actions you can perform in a Project Space or Project. Write permission enables you to create or import a Project in a Project Space and to create Assets in a shared folder or Project.

Creating a Project Space

As an Org admin, you can create a Project Space in Manager: 

  1. In the left navigation, click the Project Spaces dropdown menu:

  2. Select Create Project Space.

  3. Enter a name.

  4. Click Create.

The new Project Space displays in the tree in alphanumeric order.

More than 1000 project spaces in an Org or more than 1000 projects in each project space can create performance and usability issues. 

Assigning Permissions

As an Org admin, you can assign the following permissions to users and groups at the Project Space or the Project level:

  • Read Only: View Assets.

  • Read & Execute: Read and execute Assets.

  • Full Access: Read, write, and execute Assets.

  • Owner: Modify permissions on a Project, change the ownership to another user, plus all of the above. The Project creator has Owner permissions.

When a user or group has different permissions at different levels, the least permission takes precedence. For example, if a user might have Full Access to a Project Space, but if it contains a Project with Read Only permission, the user only has Read Only permission for all Assets in that Project.

To assign permissions at the Project Space or Project level:

  1. Click the dropdown arrow for the Project Space or the Project:

  2. Click Permissions:

  3. From the Add dropdown list, select a user or a group.

  4. From the permissions dropdown menu, select the permission level.

  5. Click Save

  6. Add more permissions, or if finished, click Done.  

Deleting a Project Space

You must be an Org admin or the Project Space owner to delete a Project Space. Deleting a Project Space removes all of its Projects and Assets. Deleted items first go in the Recycle bin, where you can restore or permanently delete them. Learn more about the Recycle Bin

To delete a Project Space:

  1. In the Manager left navigation pane, click the dropdown icon next to the Project Space name:

  2. From the dropdown menu, select Delete. A confirmation box displays:

  3. Click Delete.

Restoring or Permanently Deleting Project Spaces and Projects

Org administrators can restore deleted Project Spaces and Projects from the recycle bin or permanently delete them.

To restore an item:

  1. From the left navigation, select Recycle Bin:

  2. Click Project Folders to list deleted Project Spaces and Projects:

  3. Select the item to restore.

  4. In the toolbar, click Restore:

  5. In the confirmation dialog, click Restore.

To permanently delete an item, follow Steps 1-3, but click Permanent Delete instead:


Dashboard Pipeline tab